• Thanks for visiting the Kaleidescape Owners' Forum

    This forum is for the community of Kaleidescape owners, and others interested in learning about the system, equipment, services, and the company itself.

    It is run by a group of enthusiastic Kaleidescape owners and dealers purely as a service to this community.

    This board is not affiliated in any way with Kaleidescape, Inc.
    For official technical support, product information, or customer service, please visit www.kaleidescape.com

  • You are currently in "Guest" mode and not logged in with a registered account.

    The forum is free to use and most of the forum can be used by guests who are not registered....

    ... but we strongly encourage you to register for a full account. There is no cost to register for a full account.

    Benefits of registering for a full account:

    • Participate in the discussions! You must have a registered account to make posts on the forums. You will be able to start your own thread on a topic or question, or you can reply to other threads/discussions.
    • Use the "Conversation" feature (known as "private messaging" on other forums) to communicate directly with any of the other users here.
    • Access the Files area. The "resources" area of the forum contains many "Favorite Scene" and Script files that can dramatically increase the enjoyment of your Kaleidescape system. Go directly to great scenes in your favorite movies, created by other owners, and add automation to playback of your system with Scripts.
    • You won't see this annoying notice at the top of every screen!😊

    It's easy and free to register for the forum. Just click the "Register" button in the upper right corner of this page, and follow the instructions there.

Movie updates - where does it go?

grit

Well-known member
I have an Alto 4T, Strato 12T, and now a Terra 24T.

When an update for a movie comes out, does the update overwrite the original movie if the movie is on the Alto or Strato? Or does the update get routed to the Terra, and the prior copy deleted off the Strato or Alto? I know this is less likely for HD quality movies on the Alto, but I included it to be thourough.

- Garrett
 

SJHT

Well-known member
Have to hear from K, but everything goes first to a Terra is you have one. That would be my guess...

You might be able to notice if you look at the remaining space on each device before doing the upgrade.
 

grit

Well-known member
I tried your suggestion, thanks! There is now more space available on my Strato 12 than before, so I suspect the update indeed went to the Terra and then it erased the version on the strato
 
Top