• Thanks for visiting the Kaleidescape Owners' Forum

    This forum is for the community of Kaleidescape owners, and others interested in learning about the system, equipment, services, and the company itself.

    It is run by a group of enthusiastic Kaleidescape owners and dealers purely as a service to this community.

    This board is not affiliated in any way with Kaleidescape, Inc.
    For official technical support, product information, or customer service, please visit www.kaleidescape.com

  • You are currently in "Guest" mode and not logged in with a registered account.

    The forum is free to use and most of the forum can be used by guests who are not registered....

    ... but we strongly encourage you to register for a full account. There is no cost to register for a full account.

    Benefits of registering for a full account:

    • Participate in the discussions! You must have a registered account to make posts on the forums. You will be able to start your own thread on a topic or question, or you can reply to other threads/discussions.
    • Use the "Conversation" feature (known as "private messaging" on other forums) to communicate directly with any of the other users here.
    • Access the Files area. The "resources" area of the forum contains many "Favorite Scene" and Script files that can dramatically increase the enjoyment of your Kaleidescape system. Go directly to great scenes in your favorite movies, created by other owners, and add automation to playback of your system with Scripts.
    • You won't see this annoying notice at the top of every screen!😊

    It's easy and free to register for the forum. Just click the "Register" button in the upper right corner of this page, and follow the instructions there.

Fragmentation

grit

Well-known member
Not sure if this is the right subforum... I was wondering how Kaleidescape deals with disc fragmentation?

I had downloaded several movies on an Alto (in HD), then got a Strato. I was trying to delete the HD verions off the Alto and retain only the 4k versions on the Strato via webpage interface. I thought for sure I was doing it correct, but then the web interface showed I had retained the "blu ray quality" version each time, and instead deleted the 4k version. So I'm now re-downloading them all over again and wondered how the fragmentation would be handled?

Also, by way of a bug check, I'm really sure I deleted the bluray quality version each time, but each time the webpage shows the 4k version was deleted. I'm using Windows 10 64-bit, all updated, via Google Chrome. Next time I'll just use the TV interface.
 

J.Green

Well-known member
◥ ◣ Kaleidescape, Inc.
Also, by way of a bug check, I'm really sure I deleted the bluray quality version each time, but each time the webpage shows the 4k version was deleted. I'm using Windows 10 64-bit, all updated, via Google Chrome. Next time I'll just use the TV interface.

This should be working correctly. I'd like to try to reproduce the behaviour here in my lab. Were you accessing the browser interface using the IP address of the Alto or the Strato? What version of kOS is currently running on your system? You can see the kOS version on the General Settings page of the browser interface. On the OSD, if you're using the IR remote, just press INFO and select the System Summary tab.
 

JWort93

Active member
Not sure if this is the right subforum... I was wondering how Kaleidescape deals with disc fragmentation?

I had downloaded several movies on an Alto (in HD), then got a Strato. I was trying to delete the HD verions off the Alto and retain only the 4k versions on the Strato via webpage interface. I thought for sure I was doing it correct, but then the web interface showed I had retained the "blu ray quality" version each time, and instead deleted the 4k version. So I'm now re-downloading them all over again and wondered how the fragmentation would be handled?

Also, by way of a bug check, I'm really sure I deleted the bluray quality version each time, but each time the webpage shows the 4k version was deleted. I'm using Windows 10 64-bit, all updated, via Google Chrome. Next time I'll just use the TV interface.

Is it possible when the multiple versions checkbox UI came up, that you were selecting the 4k one instead of the HD one? The UI asks you to select/check which one to delete, not which one to keep, and I know I personally have selected the wrong one on occasion when doing the same thing.
 
Last edited:

grit

Well-known member
I'm not at home right now, so I can't pull the version number. But it was current as of last night when I did this. I'll update tonight with the version number.

The Alto and Strato are paired so that all of my cataloged movies show up on the Strato. Initially, I only had the Alto, which automatically downloaded HD quality movies when I purchased them (I always purchase the 4k version when possible). I added the Strato later, and manually downloaded all of the 4k versions to the Strato. Yesterday, I wanted to clean up the Alto storage, since both players are in the same room and I only want to use the Alto for cataloging, HD quality storage, and possilby playing discs.

When I select a cataloged movie, the Strato screen goes blank and the Alto plays the disc (assuming I put it in the player). Sorry for the long explanation. I don't recall the proper wording to describe how they are connected, but I hope my explanation will provide the correct info.

I was accessing the Alto, then the Strato, via IP address. I'd click a title and it brought up that movie in a pop-up window. I hit the "delete" button. It would show the highest resolution possible at the top. In my case, the options were "4K" followed by "bluray quality" then "bluray disc" (if applicable). I was very careful to select the "bluray quality". I had to wait a bit while it updated, then I closed the window.

I processed about 20 or so titles that way, and it deleted the 4k version every time (whether there was a cataloged bluray disc or not).
 

andy

Well-known member
⭐️ Premium ⭐️
Is it possible when the multiple versions checkbox UI came up, that you were selecting the 4k one instead of the HD one? The UI asks you to select/check which one to delete, not which one to keep, and I know I personally have selected the wrong one on occasion when doing the same thing.

I'd definitely recommend checking this. I've done this more than once and still have to be careful reading the text each time I delete something with multiple versions.
 

J.Green

Well-known member
◥ ◣ Kaleidescape, Inc.
An easier way to delete content via the browser interface is to simply check the checkbox on the left side of the list of movies. At the bottom of the page, click the "Delete" button. If you've selected a movie that has selection-grouped multiple qualities of the movie, you will get a popup giving you a chance to select which qualities to delete. This is quicker than opening the popup window for each individual title.
 

grit

Well-known member
I'll definitely try that last time.

I brought up the version info, though it only shows the Strato. Since it and the Alto are paired, I presume its the same on both?

kOS version 10.7.3-21542 - upgraded on August 20
 

grit

Well-known member
User error! I was selecting the titles I wanted to KEEP. However, if had READ the DIRECTIONS, you select the titles you want to delete. I think it I missed it because, by default, EVERY title is selected. Sorry for the false alarm.

Does anyone know about the defragmentation porcess?
 

grit

Well-known member
Sorry to bring this thread back up... but I'm maxing out the storage on my Alto and Strato 12 before adding my new Terra 24. Is there an amount of leftover/unused storage that I should leave on each unit to optimize performance, for defragging or other purposes?
 
Top