Kaleidescape Owners' Forum   Kaleidescape, Inc. Kaleidescape, Inc.

Go Back   Kaleidescape Owners' Forum > General News & Misc. Items

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #141  
Old 4 Days Ago
Drhemi Drhemi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drhemi View Post
Hi Mike,

Unfortunately, DVD playback is not as easy as you say. If a DVD is not recognized after import it will only play in the region specific player. This will occur when the only play option is "play disc." If you try you will receive the message that the disc will not play because it is the wrong region. I am not home right now so I can't recall the exact wording. Basically if discs are recognized and bookmarked, they play on any player. If not, then they are region specific. I have seen this many times when I forget to use the right player.

Blu-ray playback also has region related playback issues playing only on the region specific player when the playback option is "play disc." Again I am not in a position right now to supply details.

Perhaps my system is not doing everything it is supposed to. I will give you more specifics when I am home.

Thanks!

Wayne
This post relates to using the new switch to integrate a Strata with an M-500 when there are both region 1/A and 2/B M-500s in the system.

Hi Mike,

I have finally had a little time to investigate the above. DVDs seem to work as you describe and I have not been able to find any problems playing imported DVD content, recognized or bookmarked or not, from either player. I apologize to everyone for any confusion of the matter.

However, I have been able to reproduce a Blu-ray playback problem with the discussed region issues. The other day I imported a region B Blu-ray, which now resides in my DV700. I tried to play it using my region A M-500 and got the error message stating:Warning! This disc will only play in Region B. Switching to the region B M-500 solves the problem.

Of note, this disc was not recognized by the Movie Guide. I entered the UPC but as it is a very recent import, the Movie Guide has not yet processed it. Similar region B discs that have been processed do seem to play just fine. So, I think the problem is limited only to discs recently imported and not recognized. Basically, it is like trying to play the actual disc in a player of the wrong region. I realize the Movie Guide team is swamped, but hopefully they will be able to catch up with some of these titles, as I have a few that are now over 2 months since import.

I hope this helps clarify the issue for those concerned.

Wayne

Last edited by Drhemi; 4 Days Ago at 12:05 PM. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 4 Days Ago
Mark H Mark H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Malaga
Posts: 152
Default

Perhaps I have misunderstood the post and the integration is doing strange things due to the player paring needed - To copy a DVD to a server (Premier line at least) it needs to be imported from a player that matches the DVD region of the disk, it will then once imported play back on any player regardless of region, recognition or bookmarking etc. For Blu-Ray disks they can be imported on any player but will only play if there is a player on the system that matches the region - it doesn't have to be the player playing the movie.
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 4 Days Ago
Drhemi Drhemi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 130
Default

Yes, you are correct, except in the case above where the blu-ray was not recognized yet, it will only play from the correct region player, not from any others. Hope this clears it up. Not that most discs behave this way, but some could be a problem at least temporarily until the movie guide team has processed the title.

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 3 Days Ago
Mark H Mark H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Malaga
Posts: 152
Default

Strange as never experienced that with blu-ray disks not playing as you described as I have several that are unrecognised and they still play. A god job really as the the movie guide team and disk recognition often never happens unless I send the disks to K.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 3 Days Ago
famous shoes famous shoes is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 10
Default

Mike, will the "Parental Control" command still determine what content is shown on the OSD once a Premiere player is paired with a Strato, as it does now for stand-alone Premiere systems?

Another clarification, so as I understand the upgrade plan, to distribute 4K content to separate rooms or zones in a home, each room that will show a user's entire library of video content (including 4K movies etc.) must have an individual Strato paired with a separate M-class player. In other words, a single paired Strato and Premiere player can't be distributed throughout multiple rooms in a home system. Is this correct? Seems like this could become quite complex and expensive if someone has multiple rooms with multiple 4K displays.

JohnJ, I also use my Premiere system and its onscreen display extensively for music playback in our home A/V setup. The music playback capabilities of K were a very attractive feature when I purchased my system and one that I have enjoyed a great deal. I do have an M700 and an M300 so, although not ideal, one could be paired with a Strato and one could be left as is for music playback.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 2 Days Ago
MikeKobb MikeKobb is offline
Kaleidescape, Inc.
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by famous shoes View Post
Mike, will the "Parental Control" command still determine what content is shown on the OSD once a Premiere player is paired with a Strato, as it does now for stand-alone Premiere systems?
Yes it does. Strato only shows content that falls within the current parental control level, regardless of whether that content is local to the Strato or on the other system. You just need to set the Strato's parental control level to whatever your preference is. You do this in the Strato's on-screen Settings place, and you can set a passcode that must be entered before the parental control level can be changed.

Note that the parental control mechanism is a little different on Strato, in terms of how you go about changing the player's current level if you want to watch something at a different level. Specifically, Premiere players support just typing a code almost anywhere in the OSD, while with Strato, you need to bring up the Parental Controls option from the main menu. Still very simple.

Quote:
Another clarification, so as I understand the upgrade plan, to distribute 4K content to separate rooms or zones in a home, each room that will show a user's entire library of video content (including 4K movies etc.) must have an individual Strato paired with a separate M-class player. In other words, a single paired Strato and Premiere player can't be distributed throughout multiple rooms in a home system. Is this correct? Seems like this could become quite complex and expensive if someone has multiple rooms with multiple 4K displays.
You could always connect the Co-Star switch's output to an HDMI matrix for distribution to multiple rooms. Assuming that you have a matrix that can reliably distribute 4K HDR, of course.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 1 Day Ago
MikeKobb MikeKobb is offline
Kaleidescape, Inc.
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drhemi View Post
This post relates to using the new switch to integrate a Strata with an M-500 when there are both region 1/A and 2/B M-500s in the system.

<snip>
The other day I imported a region B Blu-ray, which now resides in my DV700. I tried to play it using my region A M-500 and got the error message stating:Warning! This disc will only play in Region B. Switching to the region B M-500 solves the problem.

Of note, this disc was not recognized by the Movie Guide.
<snip>
That's the issue. If you go into your browser interface and edit the movie's information, you can select the Blu-ray disc's region. Note that this doesn't override the disc's actual region or anything. It just lets the player know what the real region is, so it can do the necessary region management before it starts playing the movie.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ?2006 - KscapeOwners.com.
THIS SITE IS NOT OWNED BY, OPERATED BY, OR AFFILIATED IN ANY WAY WITH KALEIDESCAPE INC.
"Kaleidescape" is a trademark of Kaleidescape, Inc.; it is registered in some jurisdictions.