Kaleidescape Owners' Forum   Kaleidescape, Inc. Kaleidescape, Inc.

Go Back   Kaleidescape Owners' Forum > Hardware & Setup Threads > Kaleidescape Hardware & Setup

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old Mar 13th, 2018
JohnJ JohnJ is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,764
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyemanki View Post
Hi JohnJ-
Here are the revised settings, no joy. I think I have tried every setting and combination now.

5 attachments total.

I told the company that installed it that they have until Friday to fix it or they can come get it. I give it about a 10% chance they find a fix

Chris
They all look good. The only thing that I have configured differently is that I "Allow display mode changes". This is not going to fix your problem, however.

John
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Mar 13th, 2018
eyemanki's Avatar
eyemanki eyemanki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12
Default Reply to Telem

Hey Telem!

It works wired your way, but I lost good audio features. How did you get it to pass Atmosin this setup?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Mar 13th, 2018
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,229
Default

The issue is likely with the LG. Some of their models have a problem with EDID, and therefore handshake issues. The weird thing is it does not happen with every model, nor within the same model group (i.e. some 77's are fine and others have the problem, some 65's experienced the problem, and some do not). I'm not saying the Strato isn't contributing to the issue, tolerances seem to be getting tighter of late when it comes to devices talking to each other. I blame HDMI, and the latest "updates" to HDCP as well. Given the complexity of some of the systems we enthusiasts put together, it is becoming increasingly more difficult to get a clean signal from source to display, and getting that signal accepted for issue free playback.

I have both Sony and LG OLED's, as well as Sony's Z9D panels, and their 5000ES projector. All of them work well with my K systems, including multiple Strato's. The only models that ever gave me problems were the LG models. I corrected one with a cable change, and the other was exchanged for a new model. The new model works fine, and it's a 20' cable run.

I wish I could say "do this" and it would fix the problem, but there doesn't seem to be a specific solution.


That said, all of these products should work together, especially considering the costs involved.


Jim
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Mar 13th, 2018
eyemanki's Avatar
eyemanki eyemanki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12
Default Reply to Jim

Thank you Jim. This project has been something just short of the Bradley fighting vehicle. I had originally bought an Atlona 8x8 HDMI switch for the devices. I will skip the drama, but this $4000 switch does not support HDR or Dolby Vision. Not even Krell had gear that did all this beyond 4x.

As luck would have it, Denon had just released the new flagship, AVR-X8500H. Once that was installed it was a breeze in comparison to some of the other devices to set up. I have not found anything better on the market. The Kscape was a last-minute addition . The company that sold it to me was sure that would work just fine, it is the last part of this six month long project to be wrapped up. The only thing I should have thought through it a bit better was locating a method to rip 4K Blu Rays or a 4K Blu-ray changer. I think Kscape has a solution, but it was not clear whether it supported 4k UHD/HDR, Atmos, etc.

Hopefully I find a resolution on this. Another poster suggested connecting the Kscape to the Oppo 205 input. That works, but I lost Atmos audio.

Still working at it!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Mar 13th, 2018
telem's Avatar
telem telem is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyemanki View Post
Hey Telem!

It works wired your way, but I lost good audio features. How did you get it to pass Atmosin this setup?

Chris
Chris,

I used Strato's 2nd HDMI output(audio only) to connect to the processor.
For video: Strato HDMI out -->Oppo --> LG and
For audio: Strato HDMI out 2 --> Audio Processor.

Bit of a manual work involved to watch a movie but I really don't care, the image quality of the w7 is simply stunning. Don't send it back unless you can get another w7 to see if it works better, or a w8 -

Best,

Kostas
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old Mar 13th, 2018
telem's Avatar
telem telem is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyemanki View Post
As luck would have it, I bought an Oppo 205 just because Kscape doesn’t have a ton of 4k uhd/hdr movies with Atmos.
Chris, there are close to 90 UHD/HDR movies with Atmos and all the Harry Potter UHD/HDR movies with DTS-X.

https://store.kaleidescape.com/dolby_atmos/titles

Fox and NBC HDR movies(NBC’s Lucy is the exception)are still not available with Atmos or DTS-X , I sincerely hope that it’s only a matter of time until this happens.

Kostas
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old Mar 13th, 2018
JerryL JerryL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA- East Coast
Posts: 1,916
Default

Glad you're getting good advice here. Best of luck
__________________
Best regards,
Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old Mar 15th, 2018
eyemanki's Avatar
eyemanki eyemanki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12
Default Reply to Telem

Telem-

Thank you again for your advice. Piping it through the Oppo and a sep digital audio was the key to getting HDR/Atmos working together. The other nuance was setting the 2nd interface to bitstream.

So, the installer set up an MRX with a Kscape button that switches the Denon to the HDMI port for the Oppo, changes to HDMI Input 1, and switches audio to the digital audio port.

The only irritating thing is that you have to turn on closed captioning every film.

I can live with that.

Thank you again!

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old Mar 16th, 2018
MikeKobb MikeKobb is offline
Kaleidescape, Inc.
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 617
Default

Chris, sorry to hear about all of these issues.

We have another customer with the same LG display who has had similar issues. Our engineering team is investigating. I'm not sure of the current status but I think we're in the process of trying to secure one of those LG displays to test with.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old Mar 16th, 2018
eyemanki's Avatar
eyemanki eyemanki is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 12
Default Reply to MikeKobb

Hi Mike-

It might be me if it was opened by Strategic Home Media of Maryland. Their subcontractor is the most knowledgeable about the Strato, Derek. I provided him the workaround I was provided on here, he was as amazed as I was.

Even when the Strato was called directly to the 77 LG, same results. When it was connected to an OLED65G7P, no problems, even when connected through the Denon. Both TVs purchased at the same time.

Chris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ?2006 - KscapeOwners.com.
THIS SITE IS NOT OWNED BY, OPERATED BY, OR AFFILIATED IN ANY WAY WITH KALEIDESCAPE INC.
"Kaleidescape" is a trademark of Kaleidescape, Inc.; it is registered in some jurisdictions.