Kaleidescape Owners' Forum   Kaleidescape, Inc. Kaleidescape, Inc.

Go Back   Kaleidescape Owners' Forum > Hardware & Setup Threads > Remotes, Automation, and Control Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar 13th, 2010
josh's Avatar
josh josh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Saratoga, CA
Posts: 1,150
Default iPad Remotescape?

OK, I'll be the first to ask it...

Hoping that either Kaleidescape itself, or Dan Collens and team at Remotescape will release a more full-featured remote control system for iPad. I imagine it could do some really neat things with that form factor.
__________________
KOforum Administrator
webmaster@kscapeowners.com

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Mar 13th, 2010
JerryL JerryL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA- East Coast
Posts: 1,920
Default

Exactly what I was thinking/ hoping.
__________________
Best regards,
Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Mar 13th, 2010
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,564
Default

I agree. Although I'm planning to wait awhile for the iPad (want the bugs worked out), I "may" jump in sooner if a K app is released specifically for that panel.


Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Mar 14th, 2010
Steven Steven is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Mountain Home, Arkansas
Posts: 130
Default

Hi,

I sort of understood that the apps operated the same for the iPad and iPhone so that we would have remote apps available immediately? I already pre-ordered my 3G, I think that they're going to be great devices...

Thanks, Steven
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Mar 15th, 2010
brodricj brodricj is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 652
Default

I asked that very question of Remotescape the day the developer kit was released and I'm to understand they're "looking at it". They said the Remotescape app for iPod Touch will work with iPad until any iPad app is released.

Edit: I just hope someone builds a wall mount dock for the iPad, much like the wall mount dock for the Pronto Pro TSU9600.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Mar 15th, 2010
glr-fti glr-fti is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 104
Default

Savant will have native support for the iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Mar 15th, 2010
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven View Post
Hi,

I sort of understood that the apps operated the same for the iPad and iPhone so that we would have remote apps available immediately? I already pre-ordered my 3G, I think that they're going to be great devices...

Thanks, Steven

I may be wrong here, but I would think they would have to address the better resolution available in the iPad by rewriting the program.


Jim
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Mar 15th, 2010
JerryL JerryL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA- East Coast
Posts: 1,920
Default

In general, the iPad can run just about any iPhone/touch app but it will run in the middle of the screen- there is a "2x" button that when pressed, the image gets blown up to full screen size. This is not as satisfying as having a native resolution app but it will work.
__________________
Best regards,
Jerry
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Mar 15th, 2010
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,564
Default

Thanks Jerry. I'm hopeful that a K app for the iPad will use the panels full rez. In any case, considering the iPad's price, it's sure to be an excellent device for controlling a K system.

I'm probably still going to wait awhile to see how the battery situation plays out, and to address operational issues (if any).


Jim
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Mar 15th, 2010
JerryL JerryL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA- East Coast
Posts: 1,920
Default

Battery issues? Apple said they will replace the entire ipad if the battery goes.

How about Crestrons? I have several TPS6X and after a year they are dying and they dont sell batteries to replace them, they have to go back to the dealer- what a pain in the rear end.

If I were Crestron and AMX I would begin to get nervous- they are not there yet, but these tablets/ pads/ etcs are going to eventually kill them.
__________________
Best regards,
Jerry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ipad, netbook, remote, remotescape

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright ?2006 - KscapeOwners.com.
THIS SITE IS NOT OWNED BY, OPERATED BY, OR AFFILIATED IN ANY WAY WITH KALEIDESCAPE INC.
"Kaleidescape" is a trademark of Kaleidescape, Inc.; it is registered in some jurisdictions.