Kaleidescape Owners' Forum   Kaleidescape, Inc. Kaleidescape, Inc.

Go Back   Kaleidescape Owners' Forum > General Kaleidescape Usage Threads > Music System Questions & Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Dec 22nd, 2014
rmclachlan rmclachlan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 11
Default Format?

What format does Kaleidescape rip CDs to?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Dec 22nd, 2014
Transepoch Transepoch is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 565
Default

Same as everything else, raw bit-for-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Dec 23rd, 2014
rmclachlan rmclachlan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 11
Default

And if I export to iTunes, is it still in a lossless format?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Dec 23rd, 2014
Croptop Croptop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 355
Default

No. Exports to iTunes are done as VBR .mp3 files.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Dec 23rd, 2014
JohnJ JohnJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,724
Default

You can pick either high, medium or low quality. With picking high quality (largest file size), I have a little over 1000 CD's taking up ~120GB of storage once transferred to my PC using Kaleidescape Conductor.

John

Last edited by JohnJ; Dec 23rd, 2014 at 07:41 PM. Reason: Corrected storage: 275GB was the memory left free..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Dec 23rd, 2014
rmclachlan rmclachlan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks. I pick up my C1 tomorrow, so I will have play with this aspect of the Kaleidescape experience. I secretly hoped it would allow export in FLAC or some other lossless format so that if I had a vault I could use it as an easy way to re-rip my iTunes library to a lossless format.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Dec 23rd, 2014
JohnJ JohnJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,724
Default

I hear you. There are some us here that would like the K system to be able to dowonload or import Hi Res audio.

John
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Mar 3rd, 2015
HiFiGuy1 HiFiGuy1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 302
Default

HRA would be awesome!! I would love to see that happen. Maybe as part of the K Store? That would be a more statistically significant thing for the HRA industry than movies probably are for Hollywood, since the HRA stuff is a much smaller niche, but I would think a high proportion of K owners would be interested in that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ?2006 - KscapeOwners.com.
THIS SITE IS NOT OWNED BY, OPERATED BY, OR AFFILIATED IN ANY WAY WITH KALEIDESCAPE INC.
"Kaleidescape" is a trademark of Kaleidescape, Inc.; it is registered in some jurisdictions.