Kaleidescape Owners' Forum   Kaleidescape, Inc. Kaleidescape, Inc.

Go Back   Kaleidescape Owners' Forum > Hardware & Setup Threads > Kaleidescape Hardware & Setup

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 17th, 2018
tnedator tnedator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 71
Default How to setup new Terra?

I'm adding a second Terra. Because my dealer wasn't going to be install in the time frame I wanted, he had the unit drop shipped to me so I didn't have to wait on install, and it arrived today (the wife tells me).

I have no problem physically installing, but how do I register it to work with my Alto and existing Terra?

Do I just login to my Alto's web interface and add it there, or do I login to the new Terra?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 17th, 2018
telem's Avatar
telem telem is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnedator View Post
I'm adding a second Terra. Because my dealer wasn't going to be install in the time frame I wanted, he had the unit drop shipped to me so I didn't have to wait on install, and it arrived today (the wife tells me).

I have no problem physically installing, but how do I register it to work with my Alto and existing Terra?

Do I just login to my Alto's web interface and add it there, or do I login to the new Terra?
Congratulations!

You go to the interface, to the Components tab. Scroll down and you will see Add component. Click on it. You will then see your new Terra server and an “Add” button on the left. Click on it and you are done!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 17th, 2018
tnedator tnedator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telem View Post
Congratulations!

You go to the interface, to the Components tab. Scroll down and you will see Add component. Click on it. You will then see your new Terra server and an “Add” button on the left. Click on it and you are done!
Awesome, thanks.

I was hoping it was simple and it doesn't get much simpler than that. Heading up shortly to hook this puppy up. Had to recently start deleting content to add new, so now I can get everything back in order.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 21st, 2018
MikeKobb MikeKobb is offline
Kaleidescape, Inc.
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 697
Default

Be sure that you use your existing system’s browser interface and add the Terra to it (as opposed to starting with the Terra’s browser interface). If you were to do it the other way around, you could end up having to re-register the system. That wouldn’t be a big deal, but it’d be an extra step.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Feb 1st, 2018
gwsat01@gmail.com gwsat01@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 39
Default

I have had a Strato since July 2016. When I bought it, I thought that its 6 TB of storage would be ample. Wrong! I ran out of space on my Strato months ago and was reduced to deleting existing content from the Strato and adding new content from my Kscape library, which contains 300 plus films, which are a mixture of 4K and HD titles.

I got tired of that so last week I had my Kscape dealer add a 24 TB Terra Server to my system. Adding it to my Kscape system was super easy and I have been downloading content from my library ever since.

I couldn't be happier with the operation of my upgraded system but have a question I can't answer. As noted, my Strato was mostly full, about 98 percent, when I added the Terra. I think I made a mistake in that I told my system to download my whole library. It appears that content that was already on the Strato is being downloaded again to the Terra. If so, does the system keep track of these duplications or is there something else I should do to remove duplicated content from the system? Even if titles are being duplicated, it won't be a problem for the foreseeable future because more than 70 percent of the Terra's storage capacity remains unused. The Strato, though, remains 98 percent full. I would like to clean this up if it's possible to do so. Any advice would b appreciated.
__________________
gwsat on AVS Forum

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB and Terra Server 24 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu Bookshelf speakers 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker 4 Focal in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 BD player; TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Feb 1st, 2018
MikeKobb MikeKobb is offline
Kaleidescape, Inc.
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 697
Default

Your Terra and Strato are grouped together into a single system, yes? If they are, it should not download any duplicate content. If you queue duplicates for download, they should be skipped when their turn comes up in the queue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Feb 1st, 2018
SJHT SJHT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 308
Default

Yes, I've seen that happen many times on my system when I download a new HDR version or something and the bluray download of the same title is also queued up. It just indicates it was skipped.... SJ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Feb 1st, 2018
gwsat01@gmail.com gwsat01@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeKobb View Post
Your Terra and Strato are grouped together into a single system, yes? If they are, it should not download any duplicate content. If you queue duplicates for download, they should be skipped when their turn comes up in the queue.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SJHT View Post
Yes, I've seen that happen many times on my system when I download a new HDR version or something and the bluray download of the same title is also queued up. It just indicates it was skipped.... SJ
Thanks. So far at least, I haven't received a message that anything has been skipped but I'll keep an eye out for any such messages. Fortunately, my Terra still has over 70 percent of its storage capacity available, so I should be in good shape for now and quite a time to come. If I see anything else of interest along these lines, I will report it.

A fringe benefit of the addition of the Terra to my system has been an almost 50 percent increase in download speeds, from ~60Mbps when I had only the Strato to between 85 and 90Mbps with the Terra's addition to my system.
__________________
gwsat on AVS Forum

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB and Terra Server 24 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu Bookshelf speakers 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker 4 Focal in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 BD player; TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Feb 1st, 2018
Montucky Montucky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 93
Default

I've had that happen on occasion. Like when I already have something, then the HDR version comes out and it wants to download the supplemental features or the SDR version again. It will just say "Content already downloaded" and go along its merry way. Look up your history on your server at IPADDRESS/history
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Feb 1st, 2018
gwsat01@gmail.com gwsat01@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Montucky View Post
I've had that happen on occasion. Like when I already have something, then the HDR version comes out and it wants to download the supplemental features or the SDR version again. It will just say "Content already downloaded" and go along its merry way. Look up your history on your server at IPADDRESS/history
Yeah, I keep my system's History page open on my iPad all the time. So far, all titles in the list show only that they were Downloaded or Deleted. I have yet to see a Content already downloaded message.
__________________
gwsat on AVS Forum

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB and Terra Server 24 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu Bookshelf speakers 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker 4 Focal in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 BD player; TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ?2006 - KscapeOwners.com.
THIS SITE IS NOT OWNED BY, OPERATED BY, OR AFFILIATED IN ANY WAY WITH KALEIDESCAPE INC.
"Kaleidescape" is a trademark of Kaleidescape, Inc.; it is registered in some jurisdictions.