Kaleidescape Owners' Forum   Kaleidescape, Inc. Kaleidescape, Inc.

Go Back   Kaleidescape Owners' Forum > Hardware & Setup Threads > Kaleidescape Hardware & Setup

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old Oct 27th, 2006
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,490
Default 480i hdmi problem?

This recently came up in discussion with another K-owner, so I decided to post for relevant responses.

Is anyone having issues getting 480i hdmi out of a K-player, into a dvdo VP30 (or any other VP), then scaled/deinter. into your display?

I'm told this is a problem.

480i hdmi from K-player into my Crystalio II, then 1080p to my Sony Ruby (VW-100) works fine, but I'm told many others have reported having a problem with 480i hdmi.

Thanks,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Oct 27th, 2006
kartono kartono is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinelife
This recently came up in discussion with another K-owner, so I decided to post for relevant responses.

Is anyone having issues getting 480i hdmi out of a K-player, into a dvdo VP30 (or any other VP), then scaled/deinter. into your display?

I'm told this is a problem.

480i hdmi from K-player into my Crystalio II, then 1080p to my Sony Ruby (VW-100) works fine, but I'm told many others have reported having a problem with 480i hdmi.

Thanks,
Jim
Yes,my new K-player/reader K 5000 got problem when feeding its 480i hdmi output into a DVDO VP30 or Calibre VHD VP.
The resulted picture is shaking.I think it is a compatibility issue.
When I reported it to Kaleidescape people,they already know & aware of this problem
I just don't now when they can overcome this issue and fix it.

Thx,
Kartono
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Oct 28th, 2006
regwood regwood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 94
Default

Funny. I use 480i over HDMI without problems. I have gone directly to my Ruby, through a VP30, Vantage HD and now a VP50. There were certain movies that the Vantage HD didn't like (2-3%). After swapping in the VP50, those same movies were able to play. I think it was how the dvds were mastered. The VP50 took an extra few moments to lock the signal on the referenced movies.

i've been 480i exclusively for about 10 months.
__________________
Reg
My Main Hobby
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Oct 29th, 2006
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,490
Default

Thanks for the responses guys.

Reg,
That's interesting. You may be right about the dvd authoring, or perhaps its hdmi handshake issues with other displays. Like you, I've had no problems with my CII/Ruby setup at 480i.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Oct 31st, 2006
kartono kartono is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinelife
Thanks for the responses guys.

Reg,
That's interesting. You may be right about the dvd authoring, or perhaps its hdmi handshake issues with other displays. Like you, I've had no problems with my CII/Ruby setup at 480i.

Jim
Jim,

I think it is a handshake/compatibility issue because displaying the movies or Kaleidescape menu also have the same problem ( it blinks & there are a lot of noise / white dots all over the picture ).
Fyi my player is Movie Player 2 ( K5000 ).

Kartono
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Oct 31st, 2006
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,490
Default

Kartono,
Do you have the same problems if you output 1080i hdmi?

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Oct 31st, 2006
kartono kartono is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinelife
Kartono,
Do you have the same problems if you output 1080i hdmi?

Jim
Jim,

We only have problem with 480i hdmi output,the other resolutions like 1080i hdmi & the others are ok.

Kartono
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Nov 1st, 2006
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,490
Default

Thanks Kartono, just wanted to clarify. You are not the only person with the 480i hdmi output problem. I believe it is being looked into at K.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Dec 23rd, 2006
plinck plinck is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

I cant get HDMI through a DVDO to work with my SIM2 C3x at all. It is the shakey picture issue and eventually it just goes bluescreen. It sure looks like the handshake issue. I have spoken with DVDO and K-Scape and they tell me that it is a know issue and they are working on it. I am using a movieplayer2.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Dec 24th, 2006
cinelife cinelife is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, Indiana, California, Honolulu
Posts: 3,490
Default

Thanks Plinck. Apparently the problem has something to do with a handshake problem between the K-player and some VP's. My Crystalio II does not have this problem but some owners of other VP's (VP-30 for one) have reported the issue.

Nice PJ BTW (Sim2).

Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ?2006 - KscapeOwners.com.
THIS SITE IS NOT OWNED BY, OPERATED BY, OR AFFILIATED IN ANY WAY WITH KALEIDESCAPE INC.
"Kaleidescape" is a trademark of Kaleidescape, Inc.; it is registered in some jurisdictions.