Kaleidescape Owners' Forum   Kaleidescape, Inc. Kaleidescape, Inc.

Go Back   Kaleidescape Owners' Forum > General News & Misc. Items

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old Dec 13th, 2017
ddsquire ddsquire is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddsquire View Post
Sure does. It is available in the Google Play store.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....wifi.consumer

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old Dec 15th, 2017
appliedautomation appliedautomation is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbmapit View Post
When monitoring the speeds was it during the day? My next question would be; what else is on the network/site? I constantly get emails about download speeds and then find that there are people streaming (netflix, itunes etc.) on site, control systems (crestron, control4) constantly calling home, smart home appliances constantly calling home, mobile phones on wifi using bandwidth without people realising, the list is endless. However, chances are, if you checked the download speed at 2am you'd find it was probably faster.

The easy solution is to limit traffic to all other items during Kaleidescape downloads, maybe installing something like a domotz would help.
Plenty of spare bandwidth when k is downloading, even if it's the only item online, still the same.
__________________
www.appliedhomeautomation.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old Dec 15th, 2017
ddsquire ddsquire is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by appliedautomation View Post
Plenty of spare bandwidth when k is downloading, even if it's the only item online, still the same.
Sounds like ISP may be throttling. Thank you net neutrality. I think K recommends a business connection if possible. Perhaps then we'd get guaranteed speeds.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old Dec 15th, 2017
Mark H Mark H is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 175
Default

My ISP definitely throttles downloads & profiles traffic as I get a guaranteed speed up / down for the overall service. Current download is in progress at 14.5Mbs on a 300Mbs up & 300Mbs down fibre service to premises where as earlier today downloads were at my normal average of 25Mbs.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old Dec 15th, 2017
mbmapit mbmapit is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by appliedautomation View Post
Plenty of spare bandwidth when k is downloading, even if it's the only item online, still the same.
It must be ISP related then as we have never had an issue both at the office and at home.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old Dec 15th, 2017
appliedautomation appliedautomation is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbmapit View Post
It must be ISP related then as we have never had an issue both at the office and at home.
Tried on Plusnet and virgin media, both Top packages with supposedly unmanaged traffic. If it is ISP, it’s the only thing their throttling.

Also a dedicated 100mb fibre lease line in the office. 1 to 1 and no management.

Devon must have a slow connection to the US

Time of day doesn’t make any difference, can queue a selection which will take 24hrs to complete and they all say completed with a speed of 57-59mbps.

Edit: just checked 2 downloads from a couple days ago, they finished up at 77 and 69. Getting faster!
__________________
www.appliedhomeautomation.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old Jan 9th, 2018
livitup livitup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Rather frustrated here in Virginia...

Have XFinity Gigabit Internet and a network that supports Gigabit. Routinely get 980-990 Mb/s via speedtest.net on the same network segment my Strato is plugged in to.

The Strato consistently downloads at between 48 Mb/s and 49 Mb/s.

I'm not sure what it is, but something between my router and K's servers is throttling me.

Any Xfinity users have similar experiences?
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old Jan 27th, 2018
CINERAMAX IOPH's Avatar
CINERAMAX IOPH CINERAMAX IOPH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Ft Lauderdale but have global clients
Posts: 155
Default

Odd it used to be 49 with Strato and since i added the terra it's now 83.

How come no one ever mentioned this online?

Not complaining though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ?2006 - KscapeOwners.com.
THIS SITE IS NOT OWNED BY, OPERATED BY, OR AFFILIATED IN ANY WAY WITH KALEIDESCAPE INC.
"Kaleidescape" is a trademark of Kaleidescape, Inc.; it is registered in some jurisdictions.